Samuel S. Goren, Commissioner Beam Furr, Outgoing Broward League President, Commissioner Tim Lonergan.

FORT LAUDERDALE, FL. (May 31, 2019) – The Broward League of Cities, representing Broward County’s 31 municipal governments and more than 120 associate members, awarded the  2019 Samuel S. Goren President’s Award to Beam Furr, County Commissioner of Broward County’s District Six. The Samuel S. Goren President’s Award is the highest ranked leadership award given by the League in recognition of extraordinary commitment and contribution from an individual to the organization and its membership.

The award was presented to Commissioner Furr at the 62ndAnnual Gala held on Saturday, May 18, 2019, by Samuel S. Goren and outgoing Broward League President, Commissioner Tim Lonergan. “This year, I am privileged to present the third annual Broward League of Cities’ Samuel S. Goren President’s Award to an individual who has deeply engaged with our membership and has led efforts of great importance to all our member-cities,” said Lonergan. “Commissioner Furr’s leadership has never waned and he has crossed contentious barriers to ensure important discussions not only occurred but were also productive.”

Commissioner Furr has been a County Commissioner since 2014 and served as Mayor of Broward County from 2017 to 2018. Prior to serving the Broward County Commission, he served as a Commissioner for the City of Hollywood District 2 for 12-years and was a public-school teacher for 26 years before that. He is a dedicated advocate for early childhood education, public health, and has worked tirelessly to create jobs and subsidies for local small businesses and minority residents of Broward County.

The award was renamed the Samuel S. Goren President’s Award in 2017 to honor Sam Goren’s service to the Broward League as general counsel for more than 30 years.