Solid Waste Disposal & Recyclable Materials Processing Authority Meeting Executive Committee Meeting October 27, 2023 9:00 AM – 1:00 PM City of Cooper City, 9090 SW 50th Place, Cooper City

MINUTES

The meeting was called to order, roll call was taken and a quorum was established.

Jamie Cole, Interim General Counsel, presented an overview of ILA, Governing Board and Executive Committee responsibilities.

Upon motion of Commissioner Shuham, seconded by Commissioner Villalobos, Mayor Ross was nominated as Chair of the Solid Waste Disposal & Recyclable Materials Processing Authority Executive Committee and Commissioner Furr was nominated as Vice Chair of the Solid Waste Disposal & Recyclable Materials Processing Authority Executive Committee. A voice vote was called, and the motion passed unanimously.

The Committee discussed the process of hiring an Executive Director. Mayor Ross made a motion to reach out to the county's Executive Search Library contacts as well as neighboring county's search firms for those who have expertise in this area and can provide guidance on contract, salary, scope of services etc. Mr. Cole will draft the outreach letter. A voice vote was called, and the motion passed unanimously.

Mayor Mike Ryan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Dunn, to approve the Independent Counsel Procedures. A voice vote was called, and the motion passed unanimously.

The committee discussed administrative operations. The committee directed Mayor Ross to send a memo to City Managers with a copy to delegates requesting their city to appoint a member to the Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) with a ten-day deadline to do so. The committee requested Mr. Cole prepare a workflow chart (including time frames) outlining SWA tasks for them to review. Broward League of Cities Executive Director Tighe agreed to discuss with the League' Board of Directors the possibility of League staff performing a scope of services yet to be determined administrative duties for the SWA on an interim basis at the League's November 2nd Board of Directors meeting. The committee assigned members to assist in with the following operations:

TAC Liaison- Mayor Mike Ryan By-Laws- Commissioner Caryl Shuham Administrative Assistant- Commissioner Melissa Dunn Budget - Commissioner Beam Furr Executive Director– Mayor Ross Master Plan – Commissioner Furr

Commissioner Shuham made a motion, seconded by Mayor Newton, to appoint the following five (5) members to the Audit Committee: Commissioner Mead, Commissioner Villalobos, Mayor Ross, Mayor AJ Ryan, and Vice Mayor Davis. A voice vote was called, and the motion passed unanimously.

The committee scheduled the next meetings from 9:00-11:00 AM on the following dates: 11-20-23 in Hollywood, 12-4-23 in Lauderhill, 12-18-23 in Tamarac. Beginning in 2024, the committee will meet from 9-11:00 AM on the 2nd and 4th Fridays, location to be determined.

The meeting adjourned.