Solid Waste Disposal & Recyclable Materials Processing Authority Meeting
Wednesday, October 11, 2023
9:30 AM - 11:30 AM
Flamingo Park Meeting Hall
12855 NW 8th Street
Sunrise, FL 33325

Minutes of Meeting

The meeting was called to order, roll call was taken and a quorum was established.

Jamie Cole presented an overview of ILA, Governing Board and Executive Committee responsibilities.

Upon motion of Commissioner Mayersohn, Mayor Ross was nominated for Chair of the Solid Waste Disposal & Recyclable Materials Processing Authority Governing Board. Upon motion of Commissioner Caggiano the nominations were closed. A voice vote was called and the motion for Mayor Ross as Chair passed unanimously. Upon motion of Commissioner Mayersohn, Commissioner Furr was nominated as Vice Chair of the Solid Waste Disposal & Recyclable Materials Processing Authority Governing Board. Upon motion of Commissioner Metayer Bowen the nominations were closed. A voice vote was called and the motion passed unanimously.

Upon motion of Mayor Mike Ryan, seconded by Commissioner Shuham, the Solid Waste Disposal & Recyclable Materials Processing Authority Interlocal Agreement was approved.

Upon motion of Mayor Mike Ryan, seconded by Councilmember Horland, the law firm of Weiss Serota Helfman Cole and Bierman was appointed as Interim Authority Counsel. Authority to Negotiate and sign an interim contract with the firm of Weiss Serota Helfman Bierman and Cole was delegated to the Chair of the Governing Board.

The Election of Solid Waste Disposal & Recyclable Materials Processing Authority Executive Committee commenced. Upon motion of Councilmember Horland, seconded by Commissioner Davis, the Large Cities selected, by unanimous vote, the following five (5) Members: Caryl Shuham, Alexandra Davis, Nancy Metayer Bowen, Mike Ryan, and Melissa Dunn, as well as Steve Glassman as the alternate. Upon motion of Commissioner Mead, seconded by Commissioner Welch, the Medium Cities selected, by unanimous vote, the following three (3) Members: Elvin Villalobos, Henry Mead and Greg Ross, as well as Bob Mayersohn as the alternate. Upon motion of Mayor Newton, seconded by Commissioner Price, the Small Cities selected, by unanimous vote, the following two (2) Members: AJ Ryan and Scott Newton as well as Steve Breitkreuz as the alternate.

The first Executive Committee was scheduled for October 27th from 9:00 AM-1:00 PM, location TBD.

The meeting adjourned.